My Top 100 Favorite Movies

My Top 100 Favorite Movies

Well, I had planned to write a little something about my in-the-works novel for today’s post, but when I stumbled upon Nathan Bransford’s “Best 100 Movies Challenge,” I decided I had to give it a shot.

This was really, really hard. I enjoy watching movies, but I don’t actually sit down to watch them very often, and when I do it’s usually to rewatch something I’ve already seen. It was tough for me to come up with 100 movies I’ve seen, let alone 100 movies I liked.

Now, before you get all riled up about some iconic movie I left out, please note that I did not include any movie that I haven’t actually seen myself. That means you won’t find certain classics like “Gone With The Wind,” “Fight Club,” and “The Godfather.” It’s not that I don’t appreciate these movies, it’s just that I’ve never seen them.

Here’s my List, in no particular order:

  1. Breakfast at Tiffany’s
  2. Boondock Saints
  3. The Lord of the Rings trilogy
  4. The Hobbit (Rankin/Bass 1977 animated version)
  5. Joyeux Noel
  6. All the President’s Men
  7. Holes
  8. How To Train Your Dragon
  9. Slumdog Millionaire
  10. Charlotte’s Web
  11. Mona Lisa Smile
  12. The Land Before Time
  13. Lawrence of Arabia
  14. Titanic
  15. The Prince of Egypt
  16. Freedom Writers
  17. Speak
  18. V for Vendetta
  19. The Sandlot
  20. The Return of the Pink Panther
  21. Bedknobs and Broomsticks
  22. A Christmas Story
  23. Spirited Away
  24. Star Wars
  25. Watchmen
  26. I, Robot
  27. Finding Nemo
  28. Lord of War
  29. Shrek
  30. Legally Blonde
  31. Dogma
  32. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  33. Iron Man
  34. Serenity
  35. Jumanji
  36. Pay It Forward
  37. Men In Black
  38. The Princess Bride
  39. Matilda
  40. Who Framed Roger Rabbit
  41. Lost In Translation
  42. The King’s Speech
  43. Old Yeller
  44. Big Fish
  45. The Last Unicorn
  46. The Lion King
  47. Ip Man
  48. Balto
  49. Amadeus
  50. Excalibur
  51. Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit
  52. The Dark Knight
  53. Chocolat
  54. Master and Commander
  55. Schindler’s List
  56. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
  57. The Sound of Music
  58. Reds
  59. Let the Bullets Fly 《让子弹飞》
  60. Mary Poppins
  61. Jurassic Park
  62. Spy Game
  63. The Fox and the Hound
  64. Down Periscope
  65. He’s Just Not That Into You
  66. The Iron Giant
  67. The Year Without a Santa Claus
  68. Lean On Me
  69. Ever After
  70. The Neverending Story
  71. Mrs. Doubtfire
  72. Annie (1982)
  73. The Devil Wears Prada
  74. The Wizard of Oz
  75. Back to the Future trilogy
  76. Fiddler on the Roof
  77. Forrest Gump
  78. Law Abiding Citizen
  79. Hook
  80. The Secret of NIMH
  81. Fifty First Dates
  82. All Dogs Go to Heaven
  83. Julie and Julia
  84. Moulin Rouge
  85. Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas
  86. The Last Emperor
  87. A Knight’s Tale
  88. Monty Python and the Holy Grail
  89. Pete’s Dragon
  90. Homeward Bound
  91. Harry Potter series
  92. The Jungle Book (Disney)
  93. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
  94. Ratatouille
  95. Drunken Master

The last five on my list are not movies at all, but television shows. (Yes, I know, I’m cheating!) I’m not including these because I couldn’t think of five more movies—I definitely could—but because I’d rather list these five TV shows that I love than five mediocre movies that didn’t quite make the cut. Besides, isn’t a TV series just like a reeeeeally long movie?

So here they are, my top five favorite TV series.

  1. Game of Thrones
  2. The West Wing
  3. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood
  4. Firefly
  5. Price and Prejudice (1995 mini-series)

What movies would YOU include on your top 100 list? Share your favorite movies with me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My Top 100 Favorite Movies

  1. Covington Cross is a good TV show, only one season was ever filmed sadly. I’m not sure how much you like slightly corny medieval films, but George and the Dragon is a good one. It isn’t terribly serious, almost not at all. But some of it is just plain hilarious for the Medieval fan.

Leave a Reply

